Compassion

by Grace

Compassion

What if I said to you, it is all right to feel blue?
What if I held you close to my heart and let you cry?
What if I understood your pain?
What if I didn’t make you feel ashamed?
What if I offered you comfort instead of blame?

This is the heart of compassion.

What if I let you talk until you’re done?
What if I stayed with you through and through?
What if I wiped away your tears and cried with you?
What if I didn’t tell you to get over it?
What if I stayed strong for you through your weakness?

This is the heart of compassion.

What if through my past pain I learned to care?
What if I learned mercy and released bitterness?
What if I chose to take up wisdom instead being a victim?
What if I shared my treasure with you?
What if through my understanding I could help you?

This is the heart of compassion.

What if I opened my heart instead of closed it?
What if I used my own lessons to unfold it?
What if I chose to show tenderness instead of selfishness?
What if I held my hands out to lift you up?
What if I brought hope to the hopeless?

This is the heart of compassion.

