Love and Dating.. The Victim.. part 2

by Grace

The next night I was at home painting my nails when I recieved at text message from the Victim. He told me that he didn’t want to live anymore. I asked him if he ment to hurt himself and he told me that he didn’t know what he was going to do. My children were home that night; he wanted me to meet up with him to console him, but I told him that I was a mother first and that my kids came first. I asked him if he was feeling suicidal over me, he told me he just didn’t want to live anymore. I didn’t know what to do; I asked him if he had some friends or family that he could go and see to talk to about it; and I told him that I we hardly knew each other and that we had not been intimate; I just didn’t understand why he felt so attached to me that the thought of me not being his girlfriend would want to make him take his life.

In our past conversations he had told me that when he thought about killing himself he would drive himself off a cliff face or into the lake or both. So when he told me he was going for a ride in his truck I felt instant panic! I asked him if he was going to hurt himself in his tuck? He told me that he was unsure of what he was going to do. It was then that I called the suicide hotline with my home phone while still texting him on my cell. The suicide hotline told me to call the police; that the police could trace his cell phone and find him before he did anything to himself; they were also concerned that he could hurt other people driving in his overly emotional state.

I called the police; they came over to view his text messages.. the could not get a good trace on his cell, they told me that to save his life that I would have to lure him to my home where they could take him into the hospital. I called him on his cell and asked him to come to my home; I told him I would be waiting outside to talk to him as my kids were in bed sleeping. I gave him my address and expressed to him that I would be waiting outside in the drive-way as it was hard to find.

I stood outside and I saw his truck pass by a few times before he drove in; the police cut him off before he could get close to me. They blocked him from behind and in front. He was yelling at me; asking me how could I do such a thing to him? He was crying like I have never seen a man cry before; sobbing uncontollably. I felt horrible…. words can not express how horrible that I felt for him. I told him that I just wanted to keep him safe from hurting himself..I watched as they put him into the police car.

The police called me the next morning to tell me that he had been released!? I asked them why they would let someone out that was in such a terrible emotional state? They then told me he had a history of using threats of suicide..and that if he tried it again, I should not be manipulated by his drama.

I was pissed! Suicide is something that should be taken very seriously; I had felt that way when my ex first left me, my mother had taken her own life and I had known of many others. I thought of my children laying asleep in their beds at night while this sick drama unfolded for nothing!

Then he tried to text me that night; saying that he wanted to say he was sorry for putting me through all of it. I was so mad! I did not answer his text and deleted him out of my phone.

A couple of weeks past and some of my friends and I decided to go out dancing..There he was in all his glory burning up the dance floor. I ignored him as he danced his ass off infront of me trying to get my attention. He was half drunk again and he was making himself look stupid over dancing so that I would give him my attention. A lady that I didn’t know noticed what he was doing. She told me that she knew his girlfriend, that she was a sweet little thing that liked to come to the club to sing. His girlfriend had told this lady that he had broken up with her to pursue a woman that looked like Marilyn Monroe! Once again I was mad!

Then the Victim pulled me out onto the dance floor; spinning me around wildly and yanking me every which way; that only served to make me more annoyed! I told him that I knew what he had done to his sweet girlfriend. He fessed up and told me that he told me that he would drop everything for me. He told me how the day that he had met me, even before we went out dancing he had gone home to her and told her he had found the woman of his dreams. She threw him out of course ( good for her) but when I had broken up with him he had no one and he lost his cool and did the things he did. I set him good and strait; I told him I didn’t break up with him as I was never his girlfriend to begin with and if he thought for a second that he was going to come and live with me and my three kids he was crazy. I told him I would not feel one once of guilt due to his own stupidity.. then I went home early!

